Brisbane Heat - The team to watch during Big Bash

Brisbane Heat

The Big Bash League (BBL) is now entering its 9th season and has made a name for itself as one of the best T20 cricket championships on the planet.

The Brisbane Heat belongs to the great sunny city-state of Queensland and represents its fans in the KFC T20 Big Bash League and Rebel Women's Big Bash League.

Brisbane Heat Team is a force to contend with, being one of the five clubs that have won a BBL trophy, having overcome the stiff competition in the 2012-13 season.

BBL brings the eight founding teams in an exciting battle to win the coveted crown. The groups include the Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder, Sydney Sixers, Melbourne Stars, Hobart Hurricanes, Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades.

The championship comprises of 14 matches per team, plus five final matches. Brisbane Heat plays their seven home games at either the Metricon Stadium at the Gold Coast or the Gabba - Queensland's prime destination for top-level international and domestic cricket.

The BBL squads for 2019-20 are beginning to fill up as the teams are rushing to complete their rosters before the start of the BBL 9th edition.

Each BBL team comprises of 18 players, 2 of which can be from abroad. However, there is a new rule for the 2019-20 edition that allows the clubs to nominate four additional international players as potential replacements during the playing season. Also, every team has the option of calling up extra players at any time in the playing season if they lose players due to injuries or some other reason - international selection, for instance.

Brisbane Heat is the team to watch during this BBL. They have Darren Lehman, a terrific run-scorer at the domestic level for South Australia as well as international level for Australia, as their coach. They have also been able to land the biggest BBL signing of the edition, snapping the magnificent AB de Villiers for this season of BBL. The superstar from South Africa will not be available for the opening few games of the tournament but is likely to make his debut during early 2020.

Tom Banton, the emerging star of English cricket, will join the side before the arrival of De Villiers. The star has shown promising signs with the impressions he provided during the 2019 T20 Blast. Some people even saw a glimpse of the great Kevin Pietersen in his playing style.

These are not the only changes to the team, which now has both a new coach and a new captain after Daniel Vettori's exit and Brendon McCullum's retirement. Chris Lynn is now the new captain and Vettori is replaced as coach by the former Australian boss, Darren Lehmann.

In addition to availing the services of De Villiers, Brisbane Heat are well equipped in the international player's department by the Afghan spin duo of Zahir Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman, the former of whom is the international player replacement for the club. Mujeeb made his Brisbane Heat debut in the 8th edition, while the 2019-20 season will be the first BBL season for Zahir.

All Brisbane Heat games are bound to be full of nail-biting action that will have you sitting at the edge of your seat, so do not miss out on the excitement!

Post a Comment